PRIMA – Section 1 – WEFE NEXUS Award 2022


Programme Category

EU Competitive Programmes

Programme Name

PRIMA – Partnership for Research and Innovation in the Mediterranean Area (2018-2028)

Programme Description

PRIMA – Partnership for Research and Innovation in the Mediterranean Area is the most ambitious joint programme to be undertaken in the frame of Euro-Mediterranean cooperation.

The overall objective of the PRIMA programme is to build research and innovation capacities and to develop knowledge and common innovative solutions for agro-food systems, to make them sustainable, and for integrated water provision and management in the Mediterranean area, to make those systems and that provision and management more climate resilient, efficient, cost-effective and environmentally and socially sustainable, and to contribute to solving water scarcity, food security, nutrition, health, well-being and migration problems upstream.

Programme Details


PRIMA – Section 1 – WEFE NEXUS Award 2022


PRIMA plans to award a monetary recognition prize dedicated to promoting scientific research and demonstrating the economic and social benefits of the Water Energy Food and Ecosystem (WEFE) Nexus in the Mediterranean Area, the PRIMA WEFE Nexus Award.

Detailed Call Description

The PRIMA WEFE Nexus Award is assigned to “research teams and practitioners” that have devised and demonstrated the successful implementation of combined management practices of water, energy, food and ecosystem resources at the local or regional scale of the Mediterranean Region. The award enables teams to showcase their best practices and achievements.

 PRIMA will award two winners and each of the two winners will receive a monetary prize and high visibility in the form of public interest and increased media coverage.

Call Total Budget

€20,000. There will be two awards of €10,000 each.

Thematic Categories

  • Energy
  • Environment and Climate Change
  • Research, Technological Development and Innovation
  • Water - Management of Water Resources

Eligibility for Participation

  • Central Government
  • International Organisations
  • Large Enterprises
  • NGOs
  • Non Profit Organisations
  • State-owned Enterprises

Eligibility For Participation Notes

The contest is open to all legal entities (i.e. natural or legal persons, including international organisations) or groups of legal entities. The contestants for the PRIMA prizes should be at least one legal entity established in a PRIMA participating country. The demonstrated practices must be implemented in the Mediterranean Region. Please also be aware that participants that have already received an EU or Euratom prize cannot receive a second prize for the same activities.

 Joint applications by a group of participants are admitted. In this case, the participants must appoint a ‘lead participant’ to represent them towards PRIMA. The participants will be jointly responsible and must all fulfil and respect the conditions set out in these Rules of Contest. Applications must be submitted by the (lead) participant via the

Call Opening Date


Call Closing Date


National Contact Point(s)

Research and Innovation Foundation
George Prokopiou
Τel: +357 22205068

(Publish Date: 26/01/2022-for internal use only)

EU Contact Point

For questions related to this call for proposals, please contact Fabrice Dentressangle at