Co-Financed Programmes

The Co-Financed Programmes are programmes which are co-funded in Cyprus:

  • by specific funds of the EU multi-annual budget allocated to Cyprus (these programs are mainly funded by the European Structural and Investment Funds),
  • by national resources (state budget).

The priority areas financed are co-decided between the EU and Cyprus, and the programmes are managed in Cyprus with the right of scrutiny by the European Commission. As a general rule, proposals are submitted for approval to competent bodies of the public or wider public sector of Cyprus, depending on the Programme.

It is noted that for the European Territorial Cooperation (ETC) Programmes, priority areas are co-decided among the countries participating in the Programme, in cooperation with the EU. For each cooperation programme there is a (joint) Managing Authority based in one of the countries participating in the Programme. Calls for proposals are issued by the Programme’s Managing Authority.