European Digital Media Observatory (EDMO) – national and multinational hubs


Programme Category

EU Competitive Programmes

Programme Name

Digital Europe Programme

Programme Description

Digital Europe Programme is the first EU programme that aims to accelerate the recovery and drive the digital transformation of Europe.

Worth €7.6 billion (in current prices), the Programme is a part of the next long-term EU budget, (the Multiannual Financial Framework), and it covers 2021 to 2027. It will provide funding for projects in five crucial areas: supercomputing, artificial intelligence, cybersecurity, advanced digital skills, and ensuring the wide use of digital technologies across the economy and society.

The Programme is fine-tuned to fill the gap between the research of digital technologies and their deployment, and to bring the results of research to the market – for the benefit of Europe’s citizens and businesses, and in particular SMEs. Investments under the Digital Europe programme supports the Union’s twin objectives of a green transition and digital transformation and strengthens the Union’s resilience and strategic autonomy.

Programme Details

Identifier Code



European Digital Media Observatory (EDMO) – national and multinational hubs


Following-up from the first round of hubs created under CEF, this topic aims to create new national or multinational hubs for analysis of digital media ecosystems in order to expand the geographical coverage of EDMO. A national/multinational hub is a network of organisations active in one or several Member State(s), that will provide specific knowledge of local information environments so as to strengthen the detection and analysis of disinformation campaigns, improve public awareness, and design effective responses relevant for national audiences. These national/multinational centres will focus their activities around emerging digital media vulnerabilities and disinformation campaigns, which are of special relevance within the territory and/or linguistic area in which they will operate. Multinational hubs will cover more than one Member State with similar media ecosystems within an EU region.
The activities of the hubs should be independent from any public authority. 

Detailed Call Description

Support will be provided to:

  • Increase the number of independent national or multinational hubs on digital media. Each hub must pull together a national/multinational multidisciplinary community composed of academic researchers, fact-checkers, media practitioners and other relevant stakeholders in order to create a network capable of quickly detecting and analysing disinformation campaigns, as well as producing content to support mainstream and local media and public authorities in exposing harmful disinformation campaigns.
  • They will analyse relevant actors, vectors, tools, methods, dissemination dynamics, and prioritised targets of disinformation campaigns by applying a common methodology, established in coordination with EDMO, to monitor the evolution of disinformation-related harms on relevant audiences. Funding will also support a regular assessment of the impact of relevant disinformation campaigns on society and democratic processes, as well as the effectiveness of the policies set out by online platforms to counter various disinformation phenomena.
  • Media literacy
  • Cooperation with national authorities for the monitoring of online platforms’ policies and digital media ecosystem in the territory or linguistic area covered by the proposal. etc. (see page 8-9 of the call document)

Targeted stakeholders: fact-checking organisations, public and private research organisations, media organisations, and other stakeholders which conduct relevant activities for tackling the phenomenon of disinformation

Call Total Budget

€ 11,000,000

Financing percentage by EU or other bodies / Level of Subsidy or Loan

SME Support Actions — 50% and 75% (for SMEs)

Thematic Categories

  • Audiovisual sector and Media
  • Information Technology
  • Small-Medium Enterprises and Competitiveness

Eligibility for Participation

  • Central Government
  • Educational Institutions
  • Private Bodies
  • Researchers/Research Centers/Institutions
  • Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs)
  • State-owned Enterprises

Eligibility For Participation Notes

In order to be eligible, the applicants (beneficiaries and affiliated entities) must:

  • be legal entities (public or private bodies)
  • be established in one of the eligible countries, i.e.:
    • EU Member States (including overseas countries and territories (OCTs)
    • non-EU countries
      • listed EEA countries and countries associated to the Digital EuropeProgramme (associated countries) or countries which are in ongoing negotiations for an association agreement and where the agreement enters into force before grant signature) or countries which are in ongoing negotiations for an association agreement and where the agreement enters into force before grant signature.

For the consortium composition see the details of the specific topic, in the Call document. 

Call Opening Date


Call Closing Date


National Contact Point(s)

It will be announced soon.

(Publish Date: 18/11/2021-for internal use only)