Testing and Certification Capabilities


Programme Category

EU Competitive Programmes

Programme Name

Digital Europe Programme

Programme Description

Digital Europe Programme is the first EU programme that aims to accelerate the recovery and drive the digital transformation of Europe.

Worth €7,6 billion (in current prices), the Programme is a part of the next long-term EU budget, (the Multiannual Financial Framework), and it covers 2021 to 2027. It will provide funding for projects in five crucial areas: supercomputing, artificial intelligence, cybersecurity, advanced digital skills, and ensuring the wide use of digital technologies across the economy and society.

The Programme is fine-tuned to fill the gap between the research of digital technologies and their deployment, and to bring the results of research to the market – for the benefit of Europe’s citizens and businesses, and in particular SMEs. Investments under the Digital Europe programme supports the Union’s twin objectives of a green transition and digital transformation and strengthens the Union’s resilience and strategic autonomy.

Programme Details

Identifier Code



Testing and Certification Capabilities


The objective of this topic is to increase and facilitate security and interoperability testing capabilities and certification of connected ICT systems. This aims to improve the capabilities and cooperation of cybersecurity certification stakeholders.

Detailed Call Description

Funding will be available for activities aiming to:

  • Support capacity building for national cybersecurity certification authorities, conformity assessment bodies and accreditation bodies including for thread-led penetration testing; e.g. for the acquisition of certification testbeds; exchange of best practices and staff trainings; deploy innovative evaluation methods for specific ICT products or components; support standardisation actions (e.g. creation of protection profiles or adoption/improvement of standards used in certification schemes). This shall take into account activities in National Coordination Centres where relevant.
  • Support SMEs to test and certify ICT products, ICT services or ICT process they sell. The priority will be given to proposals demonstrating a positive impact in sectors affected by the COVID-19 crisis (e.g. health sector).
  • Provide support for SME users of ICT equipment to audit their infrastructures in term of cybersecurity resilience.
  • Support standardisation actions (e.g. creation of protection profiles or adoption/improvement of standards used in certification schemes), taking into account activities by European and international standardisation organisations as appropriate.
  • Support cyber-security and interoperability testing capabilities on 5G disaggregated and open solutions.

Call Total Budget


Financing percentage by EU or other bodies / Level of Subsidy or Loan

Project budget (maximum grant amount): between €0,5 million and €1 million per project

The grant will be a budget-based mixed actual cost grant (actual costs, with unit cost and flat-rate elements). This means that it will reimburse ONLY certain types of costs (eligible costs) and costs that were actually incurred for your project (NOT the budgeted costs).

After grant signature, applicant will normally receive a prefinancing to start working on the project (float of normally 80% of the maximum grant amount; exceptionally less or no prefinancing). The prefinancing will be paid 30 days from entry into force/10 days before starting date/financial guarantee (if required) – whichever is the latest.

Thematic Categories

  • Information Technology
  • Justice - Security
  • Research, Technological Development and Innovation

Eligibility for Participation

  • Central Government
  • Private Bodies
  • Researchers/Research Centers/Institutions
  • Semi-governmental organisations
  • Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs)
  • State-owned Enterprises

Eligibility For Participation Notes

In order to be eligible, the applicants (beneficiaries and affiliated entities) must:

  • be legal entities (public or private bodies)
  • be established in one of the eligible countries, i.e.:
    • EU Member States (including overseas countries and territories (OCTs)
    • EEA countries (Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein)

Participation in any capacity (as beneficiary, affiliated entity, associated partner, subcontractor or recipient of financial support to third parties) is limited to entities from eligible countries.
Project activities (included subcontracted work) must take place in eligible countries (see section geographic location and section 10 of the call document)


Call Opening Date


Call Closing Date


National Contact Point(s)

Eleana Gabriel
Directorate of Research and Innovation
Ministry of Research, Innovation and Digital Policy
Telephone: +357 22 691918
Email: egabriel@dmrid.gov.cy

(Publish Date: 23/09/2022-for internal use only)

EU Contact Point